Messaging app WhatsApp is asking every user to accept the new terms and policies that it updated on January 4. No user will be able to use WhatsApp without accepting these conditions after February 8. The messaging app is receiving a lot of criticism for the new update because of the fact that it will share your information with Facebook and other family companies to “facilitate, support and integrate their activities and improve our services.”

The information that will be shared by WhatsApp includes the user’s mobile phone number and other details submitted at the time of signing up for WhatsApp. The user’s activity time, profile photos, status and the about information will also be shared with WhatsApp’s family companies.

The details of your device like the model, mobile network and IP address will also be shared by WhatsApp. The location information will also be shared but for that WhatsApp will take your permission.

“We may use the information we receive from them, and they may use the information we share with them, to help operate, provide, improve, understand, customize, support, and market our Services and their offerings, including the Facebook Company Products,” WhatsApp said in a statement.

WhatsApp has made it clear that no personal message will be shared with any of its companies.

“Nothing you share on WhatsApp, including your messages, photos, and account information, will be shared onto Facebook or any of our other family of apps for others to see, and nothing you post on those apps will be shared on WhatsApp for others to see,” WhatsApp stated.

“When a user forwards media within a message, we store that media temporarily in encrypted form on our servers to aid in more efficient delivery of additional forwards,” the statement read further.