Watch Out if Your Google Account is Dormant. You May Lose Important Data
Google is planning to deactivate accounts that have been dormant for a long time. In order to protect your account, just make sure that you frequently use any of the Google applications like Gmail, Google Photos, Google Drive on your web browser or using the mobile apps.
No data will be deleted without a prior notice to the account holder. Google has assured to notify the users multiple times before removing any of the users’ content. Just keep an eye out on your data that you have saved in your account.
By July 2021, Google is planning to add all the photos and videos to Google Photos. In case you exceed the free storage of 15GB, you will have to start paying for extra space. Some of the major policy changes are expected to come in view for services like Gmail, Docs and Google Photos.
Google said in a blogpost: “people are uploading more content than ever before—in fact, more than 4.3 million GB are added across Gmail, Drive, and Photos every day.”
If you have not used any of the google apps with internet connection for more than two years, then you may lose your important data.
According to the new policy, which will take place from June 1, 2021, Google will delete data of dormant Google account by June 1, 2023. The data saved on Drive, Sheets, Docs, Slides, Gmail, Jamboard, Photos, Forms, Drawings and Google Sites will be under the radar.
Subscribe for newsletter
* You will receive the latest news and updates