Nitish Kumar took oath as Bihar chief minister for a seventh time, his fourth consecutive term, despite JD(U)’s worst performance in 15 years in the recently concluded state polls. National Democratic Alliance formed the government after securing a narrow majority and decided to retain Nitish Kumar as the CM. However, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has appointed two deputy CMs to keep control over a diminished Nitish Kumar.

Among the two appointments of the deputy chief ministers of Bihar, one is Renu Devi and the other is Tarkishore Prasad. While Devi belongs to the Nonia community – Extremely Backward Classes (EBC), Prasad belongs to the Baniya community. The EBC community has supported Nitish Kumar in the past and the Baniya community of Bihar has been a solid supporter of the BJP.

Devi has led the women’s wing in JD(U) at the state as well as national level. She helped the party and its alliances get women votes in the Bihar polls. Talking about her alignment to the right wing, Devi was part of the students’ wing of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) — Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) and the women’s wing of the Vishva Hindu Parishad (VHP) — Durga Vahini.

Born in November 1959, Devi joined the RSS right after her schooling. Devi became a district coordinator of the Durga Vahini in 1988. In the next year, she became the chief of the BJP women’s wing in the Champaran region. Devi soon became the chief of the JD(U)’s women’s wing in Bihar, before becoming the party’s vice-president in 2014.