The Odisha State Pollution Control Board (OSPCB) has announced to set up seven air quality monitoring stations (CAAQMS) to keep the pollution level in control. Initially, the SPCB had planned to set up such facilities in eight districts but Jajpur has been dropped from the list for now.

Chief Secretary Asit Tripathy led the board meeting of the OSPCB and approved the plan to set up CAAQM stations in Cuttack, Keonjhar, Balasore, Sundargarh, Angul, Mayurbhanj and Bhubaneswar.

Currently, two such CAAQM stations operate in Talcher and Ib Valley of Brajrajnagar.

Tripathy has directed the OSPCB to complete the establishment of these air monitoring stations by the end of the ongoing financial year. The Standard Operating Procedure for the rigorous validation along with analysis of the air quality data collected by these CAAQM stations will be released for public use.

In the meeting, Tripathy also approved the development of geo-database for environmental mapping.

“Odisha is rich in mineral resources, the State also needs to be proportionately industrialized. Process reengineering while adding to capacity enhancement of the Board will help creation of more employment opportunities through facilitation of business environment,” Tripathy said as quoted by news agency ANI.

According to OSPCB Member Secretary, K Murugesan, the mapping will be done through a web based application for the highly polluted areas inside the state.